GEM: Competency Framework

Competency Framework

GEM has developed a new competency framework for the heritage learning workforce which it launched at its annual conference in Swansea, September 2015. It forms part of its strategy to develop a highly skilled and respected workforce that:


Competencies are a mix of the behaviours, attributes, skills and knowledge that are considered necessary to perform effectively at work. They can be a mix of what we bring to the job and performance outputs.


GEM’s competency framework outlines the knowledge, skills and behaviours required of the heritage learning professional through eleven core competencies. Each competency is described at three different levels: foundation, experienced and leading.


Download the competency framework as a PDF


The purpose of the framework is to:


GEM is already referencing the framework in its foundation course in museum learning and building its intermediate short course programme around the training that best supports the development of the core competencies. In the longer term, the framework is the first step in establishing professional standards for the heritage learning workforce and we will be approaching a number of stakeholders in the coming months to discuss how best to embed the new framework.


We welcome all feedback on the competency framework and suggestions around its use and development, recognising that it will continue to evolve over time.

Back to CPD menu